Image source: Sky Sports

The draw for the FIFA World Cup 2022 in Qatar takes place tomorrow at the Doha Exhibition & Convention Centre (5pm GMT.)

The draw at the DECC will see 32 teams split into eight groups of four in the competition that runs from November 21. The final takes place on December 18. 

Twenty-seven nations have been confirmed at the first winter World Cup. 

Qatar qualifies as hosts. They are joined by Argentina, Brazil, Ecuador, Uruguay, Belgium, Croatia, Denmark, England, France, Germany, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Serbia, Spain, Switzerland, Senegal, Cameroon, Ghana, Morocco, Tunisia, Canada, South Korea, Iran, Japan and Saudi Arabia.

The final three places will be decided in intercontinental play-offs and the European play-off final in June. In Europe, Wales host Scotland or Ukraine who are yet to play due to ongoing Ukraine-Russia crisis.

A number of major footballing nations will not be present, the biggest surprise being Euro 2020 champions Italy who lost to North Macedonia in the play offs. 

Qatar, as hosts, are in Pot 1 of the draw with the seven highest FIFA ranking seeded teams Belgium, Brazil, France, England, Argentina, Spain and Portugal. 

The countries in 8-15 of the FIFA rankings are in Pot 2, those ranked 16-23 make Pot 3. Pot 4 includes teams ranked 24-28. This includes the intercontinental and UEFA play-off winners.

The two greatest players of the generation will be present at the finals. 

Ronaldo will lead Portugal after Bruno Fernandes scored twice to book a spot at the expense of Macedonia. Lionel Messi will also be making his last appearance for Argentina in the tournament.

Sadly, Mo Salah will not grace the tournament after Senegal beat Egypt 3-1 on penalties this week.

Five-time winners Brazil and four-time victors Germany are there again but so are three time champions France who will defend the crown with Kylian Mbappe leading the line.

England eased through their qualification campaign with talisman Harry Kane now just four goals shy of Wayne Rooney’s all-time scoring record. Kane and co were semi-finalists in Russia and will be dreaming of finally landing a major title since the Boys of ’66.

The schedule sees four matches each day of the group stage over a 12-day period from November 21 to December 2. 

Group games take place in eight stadia: Al Bayt Stadium, Khalifa International Stadium, Al Thumama Stadium, Ahmad Bin Ali Stadium, Lusail Stadium, Ras Abu Aboud Stadium, Education City Stadium and Al Janoub Stadium.

The winners and runners-up progress to the Round of 16 stage from December 3-6.
The quarter-finals are set for December 9-10, Semi-finals December 13-14, Third-place play-off on December 17 and final December 18.

FIFA has confirmed the first two rounds of matches kick off at 1pm, 4pm, 7pm and 10pm local time (10am, 1pm, 4pm and 7pm in the UK). The final round of group games and knock-out round matches are set for 6pm and 10pm local time (3pm and 7pm in the UK).

The final is scheduled to kick off at 6pm local time (3pm in the UK).

The 2022/23 Premier League kicks off August 6 2022 with 16 matchdays up to November 12-13.

Fixtures resume Boxing Day following the World Cup final. The season ends on May 28 2023.